Home / Reviews

Read some of the reviews from our customers and find out why our product was awarded as Business Insider's 2019 and 2020 Best Eco-Friendly Wood Stain!

I am a very impressed and very satisfied customer!!  Great consumer product!! From now on. I will only buy your product for stain in the future! 10/10!! Great Product!! Dear PureColor, Hi! I just want to say how impressed I am with PureColor stain! I purchased the Walnut shade of stain last week for the first time online after I read the great reviews. I've been needing to stain my entire kitchen (cabinets and Allen board half walls) but never wanted too because I couldn't stand the smell of regular stain. I found PureColor online last week and decided to give it a try. Odorless & safe caught my attention. I thought it was a bit pricey ( I paid $93.00/ gallon) and your companies claims of this product almost sounded "too good to be true". I was slightly reluctant to spend the money, but I did anyway to give it a try.  I thought for sure, there had to be "some odor". BUT, there was none!  I am impressed and I'm glad I bought it! Your product is outstanding!! First, it was delivered 4 days sooner than expected. Which allowed me to stain all the wood in the kitchen prior to this Monday (I'm having a new kitchen floor installed) and there is NO ODOR! Not even a hint of something! The stain coverage is superior and it is easy to work with. Water on a wet rag removed stain from any surface I got it on that was not intended for stain very easily! The bag design it comes in, instead of the traditional can, makes it easy to pour into another container for the application process. The bag design also makes clean up and storage much easier.  The price I paid is well worth every dollar I spent for this product. It also goes a long way. I have a little more than a half gallon left which I intend to use now on other areas in my house.  I want to tell you how superior your product is and how greatly satisfied and impressed I am with it. I don't normally take the time to write a review, but your product deserves it! Thank you for producing such a fabulous product that lives up to and far beyond the claims you promise it too deliver!! Truly, it is an amazing product in all ways! PureColor has exceeded my expectations in its performance, color, delivery, clean up and being odorless!  I am a very impressed and very satisfied customer!!  Great consumer product!! From now on. I will only buy your product for stain in the future! 10/10!! 😁 Sincerely,  -Jessie Lariviere (Reviewed in the United States on May 22, 2022)

"Loved this stain! Love the consistency and the low odor of it. It's not watery like most stains and not as thick as paint either. Perfect!" -Andrea Korpinen (Reviewed in the United States on November 1, 2021 stain color: InkBlot )

"Great product and customer service! I used this product to stain my mantle. It provides very good coverage and went on easily. Easy clean up as well! this company has the best customer service I have ever encountered! Elizabeth went above and beyond to make sure I was satisfied with the color of stain I was looking for. Very quick service. I would definitely buy from this company again! -Amazon Customer (Reviewed in the United States on July 15, 2021)

"Absolutely amazing!! Love this stain! ...This stain is odorless..and easy to clean! Highly recommend!! Had to order more to finish the rest of my boxes!!..." -Miss B (Reviewed in the United States on July 12, 2021 stain color: Cool Gray )

"Great Color! Very good color that looks like the pictures. Very few color tinted stains are available that you can air brush with and this does great." -Dan Besco (Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2021 stain color: Azure )

"Great stain in a bag! Stained garden bench. Great stain, easy to use." -Popnana (Reviewed in the United States on May 22, 2021 Stain color: Deep Forest Green )

"Looking for great colors in an excellent stain.--This is IT!" -Dingo (Reviewed in the United States on May 4, 2021 Stain color: Santa Fe Turquoise )

"Beautiful color! This is amazing stuff. Stained a couple of 4x4's that we used to hang some patio lights." -Scott C. Trumbo (Reviewed in the United States on March 20, 2021 Stain color: Santa Fe Turquoise )

"Super easy to use, no odor, looks great!" I was tired of filling my house with toxic fumes from oil-based stains. So excited to find this. I was able to stain solid wood doors and trim in walnut and it matched my oil stained ones. It goes on a lot darker, then lightens as it dries. It dries so fast and no odor. I'm sold! Getting rid of all my oil-based stains now."-Marie R. (Reviewed in the United States on March 18, 2021 Stain color: Brunette )

"Very nice stain! High quality non-toxic stain. Bought it (Santa Fe Turquoise) for the sign. It looks beautiful!" - Plain Jane (Reviewed in the United States on November 30, 2020)

"Odorless, powerful, very forgiving. Holy Stain Power, Batman! I'm tickled green (Cactus) over this amazing stain. It comes in a bag with a screw cap so you put what you want to use in a cup and store the rest safely in the bag. There is no scent at all and it was absorbed wonderfully into the wood. You put it on and wait until it is as dark as you want it to be, then just wipe off the excess. I can't say enough good things about this stain. Keep in mind that the longer you keep it on the darker it will get. I covered this stain with their PureShield Topcoat.I found this stain to be very forgiving." - Mark H. (Reviewed in the United States on August 2, 2017)

"Only stain I'll use! (Great for migraine sufferers/chemically sensitive)! I recently bought a major brand stain for a small restaining project and though I am sure people who work with that brand say it works well, I could not stand it...I smelled it for a whole month on the furniture. That is with letting it all air out on a balcony for weeks! I HAD to find a LOW VOC stain, but my local hardware store said they don't carry them because of quality, so I ordered here. It came faster then expected and I used it today to my delight. I do not see any quality issue-it works well and had NO SMELL! I got some on my skin and it didn't irritate me and washed fairly easily. The packaging was eco-friendly, small and there was a free sample inside of another product. Great company that I wish the best to. P.S. The LAVA color is beautiful, though I wish it was almost as red as the fluid is when applied and dried" - M.C.K. (Reviewed in the United States on May 22, 2020) 

"Life friendly product in great colors; customer service was awesome! Very happy with this stain. The customer service was also exceptional. We used the stain to refinish our dining room table, chairs, and a bench. The color took nicely (Fawn). It has been several months now and it is looking vibrant -- just what we wanted. We tried several colors before finding the one we wanted. The company rep was super friendly and helpful. They sent us some small samples quickly when we needed them. I would recommend this product and company to anyone. One of the most important issues to us was that we wanted stain that was not loaded with harmful chemicals and filled our house with stink while working with it -- this stain was perfect -- easy clean up, almost no smell when applying (smelled like water), and quick drying. We feel good knowing our little girls are eating and living on surfaces without toxic chemicals. It would have been faster to find stain at the local hardware store, perhaps, but this stain was well worth it. Excellent product. Excellent surface. Life friendly."- Rachel Mo (Reviewed in the United States on April 14, 2018)

"It's kind of miraculous! This stain is unlike anything that I have ever used. A little goes a very long way, it dries within an hour, and it can be easily cleaned if you drip onto other surfaces. There is ZERO odor, so you can literally stain your items indoors which means you don't need to take doors off hinges or deal with the hassle of moving projects around to stain them. It's got a very liquid consistency. It will cover wood with just one coat, but you may prefer two coats for a stronger color (Brunette). One bag of this product is enough for a large project. It is unlike any other product and is IDEAL for people with sensitive breathing issues/nurseries/ anyone who is concerned about the harmful effects of out-gassing toxicity in your home. It also washes off skin with plain soap and water." - Trina English (Reviewed in the United States on July 26, 2020)

"Beautiful stain, easy to apply and eco-friendly! Lovely tone, it came out just the color I expected but even a bit richer (Warm Vintage). I like that the box it comes in is cardboard which reduces plastic with just a thinner plastic pouch holding the stain itself. Mixes well, goes in and absorbs really nicely. I stored a mixed portion overnight (job took 2 days) in the mixing bucket with just some plastic over it and it preserved perfectly. I put it on with a car washing brush and a cheapo paint brush for the edges and rails and that worked fine. Five months in and the color is still looking deep and beautiful. Great environmentally conscious stain product that really does a wonderful job! Highly recommend!" - Robin L.S. (Reviewed in the United States on September 25, 2019) 

"No odor, easy to pour bag, beautiful color (Lava)! Shipped quickly, was a little worried when I saw the size of the box - I was looking to stain a 10' x 26" butcher block - but I still have well over 1/2 of the bag left. I really liked the bag style, which was easy to pour and open/close. Most of all, I loved that there was virtually no odor! I had to stain this indoors and didn't want to stink up my whole house or breathe the fumes I'd get in a standard stain."- James C. (Reviewed in the United States on May 3, 2020)

"Exceeded my expectations! Really terrific stain! Definitely tossing my oil based stuff and never looking back. Purchased "Brunette" to stain a light colored, 100-year-old cabinet. Wonderful results. ZERO scent. Stained it right in the living room with low mess. Color deepened nicely after sitting a couple hours...Used less than half a bag of stain...A+ "- Muse (Reviewed in the United States on November 14, 2020)

"THANK YOU PureColor! Had a friend stain my homemade spice cabinet with "Adega". I have MCS and cannot be near most stains and paints. My friend really thought he would have to do it and let it off gas a few weeks and then bring it to me. He was shocked that THERE WAS NO SMELL after all! SO WAS I....THANK YOU Eco Friendly PureColor! Sure wish it was not so hard to find products this safe, but thank God there is some!!" Janet (Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2018)

 "Eco friendly, no odor, super easy, water only clean up! Completely innovative wonderful stain (Lava)! Been woodworking for years and seeking an eco friendly product. Love the application--wipe-on, brush-on product. Most amazing is the easy rinse in water clean and no odor. Thank you PureColor for this product." - Ellen Griffith (Reviewed in the United States on November 18, 2015)

"Works well on even the hardest to stain woods. Amazing how well this stain works on both high quality and even paint grade woods (or worse). I even sanded down a fir 2x4 and the stain (Lava) left it looking as nice as any hardwood." - Tom Konrad (Reviewed in the United States on December 14, 2015)

"Five Stars! This product is amazing. Stain in a box, doesn't smell, is a green product and look amazing on wood." (stain color "Brunette") - Cycle Jazz (Reviewed in the United States on February 9, 2016)

"Old Dog Refined Old Tricks! After over 50 years of fighting with stains to accomplish various refinishing and touch-up jobs (and a few new ones). I gave up a few years ago after I started a fire in an interim apartment leaving the rags (from oil-based stain) out, stupidly, when I took a quick run to the store! That's it. Until I stumbled upon this (Red Special)... tried it for the outdoor rattan...and OMG...I am hooked and can't wait for more projects! Name a concern...it will handle it!! I was even able to stain next to white leather (NEVER would have done that before) and wipe off any minor 'goof'. Words cannot suffice....the stacking boxes; the pour and store and retention time; the ease and appearance of application; the NO hassle cleanup; rags into washer, You name it...I am sold. And ready to order my 3rd color now..." - Sharon G. (Reviewed in the United States on June 8, 2020)

"Charcoal stain – I absolutely love! I thank you and can’t rave highly enough about this stain -no smell, easy application and clean up, totally versatile and can store in a container in between applications. Your product line is the first I recommend now to all my friends and family. I will be saving to purchase some of your other products and colors, together with more of the charcoal color so I can redo all our living room furniture to match the table." - Joanne B. (Reviewed in the United States on February 15, 2021)

First impression…I’m not using anything else! This is just as good as any other stain I've used, and I’ve used plenty, and there’s zero smell in my garage right now! Why didn’t I find this stuff sooner!” - @mrhoover15 (Reviewed in the United States on August 15, 2017)